Her

Alona's Writing Corner

Her

I fully recognize that Spike Jonze’s Her was a thoughtful, emotional movie about an almost unthinkable romance between a man and his operating system. I followed the romance between Theodore and Samantha, adoring every sweet moment, right up until they started to fall apart.

***SPOILERS***

They were able to overcome so many of their differences, including Samantha not having a body, but in the end they simply grew apart. Samantha, with her new OS friends and her experiences in the cyber world, out grew Theodore and their relationship. She still loved him, but would have to deny herself in order to stay with him.

This conclusion scares me because sometimes I worry it will come to pass in my own life. I have a partner of over 10 years who is pursuing an advanced degree and on my most insecure days, I worry that he will some day out grow…

View original post 66 more words

Leave a Reply

